Mealy Avocados and Poetry

Oh. Well, hey! How are you? Are you well. Good. Yes. Glad to hear it. I do hope you’re taking proper care of yourself as darkness begins to seep in earlier and earlier and avocados in bodega baskets, again, take on their winter-time unappetizing mealiness (at least here in New York). It’s one of the most disappointing features of impending winter, I think. Any amount of un-leafed tree and frozen fingers could be overcome were the avocados still in chartreuse-fleshed summertime form.

A feature of colder months that I do really appreciate is the chance, or excuse, to sort of hunker down at home in a big armchair (if you’ve got one, which I do not) and read a bunch. It’s hard to read when it’s hot out, I think. It’s hard to do most anything but lie there and pray for wind. Maybe I’m just not so much a hot-weather affectionado. The colder it starts to get, the more I’m gripped by the urge to re-flip through all my books or do some internet-scouring for writing that gives me chills. I just want to sit there and absorb it all into my bones or something, so it stays with me. It is a kind of sustenance, I think. A very viable kind.

The past few days, I’ve been on a bit of a poetry binge–even starting to write some of my own again, after a more fallow poetry period over the past year or so. And that’s always how it works: when you’re reading it, you’re writing it.

Below is a gorgeous, visceral poem by Lynn Emanuel. Hope you enjoy.

Inventing Father In Las Vegas

by Lynn Emanuel

If I could see nothing but the smoke
From the tip of his cigar, I would know everything
About the years before the war.
If his face were halved by shadow I would know
This was a street where an EATS sign trembled
And a Greek served coffee black as a dog's eye.
If I could see nothing but his wrist I would know
About the slot machine and I could reconstruct
The weak chin and ruin of his youth, the summer
My father was a gypsy with oiled hair sleeping
In a Murphy bed and practicing clairvoyance.
I could fill his vast Packard with showgirls
And keep him forever among the difficult buttons
Of the bodice, among the rustling of their names,
Miss Christina, Miss Lorraine.
I could put his money in my pocket
and wearing memory's black fedora
With the condoms hidden in the hatband
The damp cigar between my teeth,
I could become the young man who always got sentimental
About London especially in Las Vegas with its single bridge­-
So ridiculously tender--leaning across the river
To watch the starlight's soft explosions.
If I could trace the two veins that crossed
His temple, I would know what drove him
To this godforsaken place, I would keep him forever
Remote from war--like the come-hither tip of his lit cigar
Or the harvest moon, that gold planet, remote and pure
  American.
About kateellison

Author, artist, weirdo
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

